Starting out with Elm

Over the next three weeks I am planning to start writing about my journey into creating a crypto currency exchange rates web app using Elm. Two objectives with that,

  1. Learn to program using Elm
  2. Create an exchange application where I can subscribe for notification which I would like to use.

I have been using Elm at very small level for experimental purposes. There are lot of frameworks out there to build highly performing web application. Angular Js, React to name a few front runners. I have developed application using Angular 1.x, haven’t really took the plunge into 2.0 yet. So I will not be comparing any other frameworks. I will be focusing on Elm and for the benefits I will quoting other documents in the web.

There are two reasons why I chose to do my web development using Elm

  1. I am a big fan of functional programming. Elm is pure functional front end framework
  2. Run time errors, Based on my reading, code generated using Elm will not create ugly runtime errors
Technorati Tags:
Leave a Reply

